The extra steps are having everyone else you iMessage with also turn off iCloud Backup.
Messages are all backed up twice by default: once from each device.
Turning off iCloud Backup is like migrating off of gmail to keep daddy G from reading your correspondence: it doesn't work when everyone else you correspond with is still being surveilled.
Messages are all backed up twice by default: once from each device.
Turning off iCloud Backup is like migrating off of gmail to keep daddy G from reading your correspondence: it doesn't work when everyone else you correspond with is still being surveilled.